A PROCLAMATION,

BY ALEXANDER RAMSEY, GOVERNOR OF THE TERRITORY OF MINNESOTA.

To all whom it may concern:

WHEREAS, In and by the 9th section of the act of Congress of the United States, creating the Territory of Minnesota, it is among other things, provided "That the said Territory shall be divided into three Judicial Districts, and a District Court shall be held in each of said Districts by one of the Justices of the Supreme Court, at such times and places as may be prescribed by law;" and by the 19th section of the same act, it is further provided, "That temporarily, and until otherwise provided by law, the Governor of said Territory, may define the judicial districts of said Territory and assign the judges who may be appointed for said Territory to the several districts, and also appoint the times and places for holding courts in the several counties or subdivisions in each of said Judicial Districts, by proclamation to be Now in virtue of the aforesaid issued by him." enactment, I do hereby order and direct, that until otherwise provided by the Territorial Legislature, the Territory shall be districted, the judges assigned, and the courts held as follows, viz: The county of St. Croix shall constitute one district, and be known as the First Judicial District. The County of Lapoint, and the country north and west of the Mississippi, and north of the river Minnesota or St. Peters, and of a line running due west from the head waters of said river to the Missouri river, shall constitute one district, and be known as the Second Judicial District. The country west of the Mississippi river, between the line of the State of Iowa and the river Minnesota or St. Peters river, to the Missouri river, shall constitute one district, and be known as the Third Judicial District.

The Hon. Aaron Goodrich, is assigned to the First Judicial District, and will hold the courts therein. The

Hon. Bradley B. Meeker, is assigned to the Second Judicial District, and will hold the courts therein. The Hon. David Cooper, is assigned to the Third Judicial District, and will hold the Court therein.

In the First Judicial District, a District Court of the United States for the county of St. Croix, shall commence and be held at Stillwater, in said county, on the second Monday of August next, to continue one week, and the second term of said Court shall be held at the same place, on the second Monday of February, A. D. 1850., to continue one week. In the Second Judicial District, a District Court of the United States, shall be held at the Falls of St. Anthony, on the third Monday of August next, to continue one week; and a second term of the said court shall be held at the same place on the third Monday of February, A. D. 1850, to continue one week. In the Third Judicial District, a District Court of the United States shall be held at Mendota, on the fourth Monday of August next, to continue one week; and a second term of the said Court, shall be held at the same place on the fourth Monday of February, A. D. 1850, to continue one week.

Given under my hand and the seal of said Territory, at St. Paul, this eleventh day of June, A. D. 1849, and of the Independence of the United States of America, the seventy-third.

ALEX. RAMSEY.

By the Governor. C. K. SMITH. Sec'y.

Posted MLHP: February 23, 2011.